Scientific Council

The Scientific Council is the advisory body for INRiM's overall research activity.

It contributes to the definition of the strategy, the scientific planning and the valorisation of the role of the Institute.

The Scientific Council comprises seven members with qualified professionals and recognised scientific experience in INRiM's fields of competence.

The Board of Directors appoints it through the choice of one member out of two nominations proposed respectively by

  • Ministry of University and Research;
  • Ministry of Economic Development;
  • Ministry of Defence;
  • Piedmont Region.

Also appointed are:

  • one member from the Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (BIPM);
  • two members elected from among the INRiM researchers and technologists.

The members of the Scientific Council are appointed for a four-year term of office and may be confirmed once.

It is composed of:

  • Diederik Sybolt Wiersma - INRiM President;
  • Marco Genovese - Representative of INRiM researchers and technologists;
  • Alessandro Germak - Representative of INRiM researchers and technologists;
  • Martin J.T. Milton - BIPM Representative;
  • Candido Fabrizio Pirri - Piedmont Region representative;
  • Miriam Serena Vitiello - MUR representative;
  • Enrico Dati - MIDF Representative;
  • Claudia Cecchi - MiSE Representative.